iStock

The women of the Exodus stories are instrumental in bringing liberation to the Hebrews.  Through midwifery and courage, misdirection and trickery, private acts and public ones, they make redemption possible.  We will study biblical texts and midrashim on these women— the midwives Shifrah and Puah, the mother and daughter Yocheved and Miriam, and Pharaoh’s daughter— and consider Jewish tradition’s view of them.  We’ll also share our own perceptions of them through discussion and a creative writing exercise.  We’ll develop greater intimacy with the women characters of the first chapters of Exodus, in preparation for Passover.  

Meets: Monday, 90 minutes, 4 p.m. Pacific | 7 p.m. Eastern | Next Day 11 a.m. Australia
Runs: March 22, 2021
Number of Lessons: 1
Faculty: Rabbi Dr. Jill Hammer

REGISTER NOW

Take a Class

Melton schools offer courses in many local communities.

Learn Online

Melton also offers selected courses online via Zoom.

Partner with Melton

Bring courses to your community or programs for your organization.